My First Green Smoothie

This Christmas, like last Christmas, my letter to Santa begged for all things fitness. Santa came through with some new Nike running shoes, some workout clothes, and… a Nutribullet personal blender.

I have had my eye one of these for quite a while, unwilling to shell out the cash because I already had a regular blender (that I never used, I might add). I also recently started reading the book, Eat to Live, by Joel Furhman, M.D., which promotes a mostly raw, plant-based diet nutrition program, and mentions using smoothies to get in extra greens. Needless to say, I am beyond thrilled that Santa hooked me up. If you weren’t so lucky, check the Magic Bullet NutriBullet 12-Piece High-Speed Blender/Mixer System out on Amazon.

I went grocery shopping with the intention of making smoothies for breakfast ALL WEEK, and even put the ingredients for today’s smoothie in the cup in my refrigerator last night to be able to grab, blend, and go. We’ll see how this goes, switching from my usual cheese eggs with toast combo, but my Monday smoothie was much more delicious than I was anticipating.

And it was GREEN!

green smoothie weight loss eat to live diet nutribullet magicbullet spinach grapefruit clementine ginger low calorie plant based nutritious breakfast smoothie juice recipe

I know, I know, it doesn’t look or sound very appetizing now, but trust me, it was. Blending in the nutribullet, I got an extremely smooth consistency that was more juice-like than smoothie-like, but still left the fiber in my cup (unlike juicing). Next time, I think I’ll add even more greens.

Here is the recipe:

  • 1 cup spinach (pack it in tighly when you are measuring)
  • 1 ruby red grapefruit (I cut it out of the peel – make sure you cut out the middle and seeds)
  • 2 clementines
  • Fresh ginger to taste (I like a lot so I put maybe 1 teaspoon worth, rough estimate)
  • Add ice after to chill

Here is the nutritional breakdown:

  • 174 Calories
  • 0.9 g Fat
  • 43.1 g Carbohydrates (6.3 g fiber, 34 g natural fruit sugars)
  • 3.8 g Protein
  • 27.5 g Sodium

Try it out and let me know what you think! Or comment your favorite smoothie recipe!

XOXO, Hanni

Leave a Reply

