DIY Tomato Enzyme Peel

You are probably well aware that tomatoes are chock full of nutrients, phytochemicals, and enzymes that make them an excellent addition to your diet. What you may not know is that these fruits are also an excellent addition to your skin care regimen.

How?

When applied to the face, tomato enzymes can help expedite exfoliation processes, improving dullness. They also can cleanse deep into pores to remove dirt and oil, which in turn makes pores look smaller. They can even help soothe a sunburn or be applied to peeling burns to prevent further peeling. Not to mention that phytochemicals have anti-aging properties!

There are lots of different recipes across the web for tomato enzyme masks and peels, in addition to commercially sold products and treatments performed by aestheticians. I learned of an incredibly simple peel several years ago, and use it randomly whenever I feel my skin needs a bit of a boost – redness, large pores, peeling, and more can be improved with the use of just one ingredient: tomatoes.

What to do:

1. Wash your face with your favorite mild cleanser. I use Purpose. It was recommended by my dermatologist years ago and is the only thing I have found that makes my face feel fresh and clean without aggravating my sensitive skin.

Purpose
Purpose Gentle Cleansing Wash

2. Slice your tomatoes. I use the “baby” (grape” tomatoes) because that’s just what I prefer to buy to eat.

face face2

3. Rub the tomato halves allllll over your face. You can take out the seeds and use the peels if you don’t want seeds on your face. I don’t really mind, so I don’t bother with that.

face3

4. Let dry for ~10 minutes. Your face will feel tight like you are using one of those masks that dries up and peels off – but there is no peeling this one off.

5. Rinse your face well with cool water.

6. Apply your favorite moisturizer. I recommend doing this at night, and will follow it with my favorite Dior combo (serum and Hydra Life) or Cerave SA cream.

Leave a Reply

