The Anti-Mayo Guide to the Best Sweet Tater Salad

If you’ve ever been to a pot-luck luncheon after church on a Sunday afternoon in the South, you know you’re bound to find AT LEAST three to five different potato salad selections. I can’t quite understand what it is about potato salad that little old ladies love so much, but I’m thinking its the mix of carbs and pure fatness into one chilled side that goes great with lemonade. Personally, the thought of mayonnaise so much as touching my plate is enough to make me gag, so I generally avoid the potato salads – UNLESS they are made with vinegar, that’s my jam. Today, I’ve taken the vinegar-based potato salad a healthy step forward, and traded the regular potatoes for sweet potatoes. If you like vinegar, lemon, onion, and herbs, you’re sure to love this as much as I did.

Ingredients:

  • 1 large sweet potato
  • Sliced white or yellow onion (to your taste)
  • Sliced celery stalk
  • Herbs of choice (I used rosemary and dill this time)
  • Red vinegar
  • Dash of olive oil
  • Juice of 1-2 lemons
  • Hint of sea salt

sweet potatoes paleo vegan sweet potato salad luncheon side idea

Directions:

  • Cook your sweet potato. I cook mine in the microwave after washing, stabbing several, several times with a knife and wrapping in saran wrap. I usually cook 1:30 minutes and then turn over and cook another 1:30 minutes, depending on size of your sweet tater. It should feel a bit mushy but not runny.
  • Slice your tater into small pieces. Some will be mushier than others. I leave my skin on.
  • Combine in bowl with sliced onion and sliced celery.
  • Add drip of olive oil.
  • Add as much vinegar as you like – which I like a LOT.
  • Add the juice of 1-2 lemons.
  • Add herbs.
  • Add hint of sea salt.
  • I taste test as I go along. The flavor is all YOUR preference.
  • Keep adding herbs until you are happy with the flavor.
  • Store in an airtight container in the fridge for several days.

Let me know what y’all think! Test is out at your next church lunch, if you’re feeling adventurous!

XOXO

Leave a Reply

