Brussels Sprouts Super Salad

Being a health-minded individual and a long-time vegetarian, I try my best to love veggies. But, it turns out some are just so much more love-able than others, and some are just flat-out hard to even like.

Brussels sprouts are one of those hard-to-like veggies for me. I’ve tried roasting, sautéing, and even Sriracha-ing these green bulbs. And I never once thought, “yum, this is so good, I can’t wait to make these again.” Until now.

I found a recipe for Brussels sprouts salad in a health magazine I was reading during my recent hair appointment nightmare. The picture looked pretty appetizing, so I went ahead and snapped one of the recipe to try it out for myself. I went and bought myself some Brussels sprouts that very night.

It turned out some of the other ingredients were not available at my local Trader Joes, so last night when I went to make the recipe, I ended up improvising some parts. And guess what? Even with my own creative take on the missing ingredients and a few extra additions, it was SO GOOD. Brussels sprouts, touted as “SO GOOD!?” Yep. All it took was one GREAT salad made me a fan.

brussels sprouts salad pecans raisins granny smith apples

What you need:

  • Fresh Brussels
  • Raw Pecans
  • Golden Raisins
  • Sesame Seeds
  • EVOO
  • Cracked Pep (always an essential)
  • Sea Salt
  • Mustard Seeds (or just yellow mustard)
  • Honey
  • Garlic
  • Granny Smith Apple (half)
  • Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Black Sesame Seeds

What you need to do with it:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Place pecans on a single layer on a baking sheet (or piece of tin-foil like I did). Cook until they start getting fragrant and brown, or about 8- 10 minutes.
  2. While your nuts are getting nice and toasty, prep your Brussels. Slice into thin strips and separate the layers. Discard the “stems.”
  3. Heat a bit of EVOO in a skillet on medium heat. Toss in the Brussels. Cook about 5 minutes or until they are about halfway cooked (still a slight bit crisp), stirring them around occasionally. Go ahead and add some cracked pep and a few pinches of sea salt.
  4. While the Brussels are cooking, you should whip up the dressing. I generally hate dressing, but this one is healthy approved. Mix: Apple cider vinegar, honey, mustard seeds (or just yellow mustard, yes I know it sounds weird, but it worked out fine), a tsp of garlic (I used the pre-pressed kind in the jars), cracked pepper, and black sesame seeds. How much of each ingredient you use is really up to your individual tastes.
  5. Pour the dressing over the Brussels while they are cooking. Mix well. Continue to cook another 3 or so minutes.
  6. Toss in your golden raisins and pecans, which should be done by now. You should chop the pecans if they weren’t purchased that way.
  7. Cut half a granny smith apple into cubes or whatever shapes you want and toss into the salad.
  8. Remove from heat and serve warm.
  9. OR, store leftovers in fridge and eat cold for lunch tomorrow.

Hope you like Brussels sprouts as much as I do after this recipe. Enjoy!

xoxo, Hannah

Leave a Reply

