Eating My Way Through Nashville

Confession: My name is Hannah and I am an EATER.

My Fourth of July trip to Nashville was the impetus for this revelation. I was in the town for all of 3 days and ate just about all day every day. I ate out for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, ordered appetizers to “share” because I wanted to try everything, and even a sushi menu item called “Heart Attack.”

In between healthy activities like kayaking, stand up paddleboarding (and knee paddleboarding in a race to beat the clock back to shore for our scheduled return time),

stand up paddle board sup boarding nashville shores music city water sports

and lots of walking downtown, I managed to become the human version of the Very Hungry Caterpillar.

On Friday, I ate through one soy iced coffee and one muffin from the local coffee shop Eighth and Roast, lots of snacks, three Leinenkugal Summer Shandys, wakame salad, a jalepeno sushi appetizer, two rolls of sushi, and two glasses of wine from Koto Sushi.

sushi

SIDE NOTE: Here’s my outfit, because it was my first time wearing a romper, and it must be documented. #bootygainz

zara olive green romper nashville nights

On Saturday, we returned to Eighth and Roast, where I ordered another soy iced coffee, a vegetarian breakfast burrito,

breakfast burrito

and a vegan, gluten-free coconut cake donut to go.

DONUT hate me cuz I'm hungry.
DONUT hate me cuz I’m hungry.

Then, for our Mexican Fourth of July dinner, I couldn’t pick just one appetizer at Bajo Sexto, so naturally, I had to try them all. I ate through (shared) chips and queso, (shared) chips and guacamole, the most amazing house salad I have ever had at a Mexican restaurant with shredded Romaine, more guacamole, and raddishes, and probably the best fish taco I have ever had. I also drank their house margarita – which is made without margarita mix, just like them – and tried a few sips of my friend’s mojito, which was equally delicious. If you are ever in Nashville and like Mexican food, this casual Tex-Mex place near the Bridgestone Arena is a must-try destination!

bajo sexto mexican texmex queso guac margaritas salad foodie nashville eats

On Sunday morning, we skipped our coffee tradition for brunch at Embers Ski Lodge. This restaurant is fully decorated to the 10’s like a Pacific Northwest Ski Lodge, and even smells like wood. We were told that the food was also inspired by the area. I ate through the vegan and gluten-free Missoula Ski Bowl Hash, or a big bowl of broiled veggies in layman’s term, and half a Bloody Mary. I also ate a few bite’s of my friend’s amazing choice of breakfast:the Mount Alyeska Drunken Spiced Peanut Butter & Banana (stuffed) French Toast (!!!). My only complaint was the Bloody Mary tasted like pico de gallo…but the food and service were both great!

embers ski lodge nashville eats ski hash veggie bowl

After brunch, because I was still hungry, and can’t say no to good dessert, I ate through one small Jeni’s cone with lavender ice cream and lemon frozen yogurt scoops. It was sooooo delicious.

jenis lavender lemon cone nashville eats

After that, I was no longer hungry. I started my drive home with a full heart and full belly from a Fourth of July weekend well spent with a best friend and some of the best eats.

pk2

Leave a Reply

