3 Things I learned from My First Blue Apron Meal

Just when you think you know a thing or two about cooking, leave it to Blue Apron to show you something new. Here are the top three surprises I had when making my first meal:

  1. Eggplant is insanely easy to make. I originally learned that prior to cooking eggplant you had to wait forever to draw the moisture out with salt and paper towels; this is apparently false. You can actually just cut it up into half-inch thick pieces, drizzle with a bit of EVOO, and bake it immediately at 425F. I seasoned mine with Himalayan pink salt and cracked pepper (because: addicted).img_1965
  2. Farro is an ancient grain with a mush-proof texture and nutty flavor that you’ve probably never heard of. It’s so much easier to cook than rice since it can’t get soggy even if you overcook it. Farro is also high in fiber (7-8 grams per serving) AND a good source of plant-based protein.
    • It is NOT gluten-free.img_1967
  3. Labneh is a traditional Lebanese “cream cheese” and when it’s seasoned with lemon, za’atar and pepper it makes the most perfect pairing for eggplant. Since it comes plain in the package, it’s pretty much a blank canvas that can be manipulated to taste however you like or depending on how you’re using it. I’ll definitely be using this again in other creative ways… and if I can’t find it will be making my own out of Greek yogurt, or just as a healthier alternative.img_1976

I can’t wait to make my next Blue Apron meal and report out on the recipe! Stay tuned!

 

Leave a Reply

