Green Chef: Nigerian Suya Tofu Kebabs

Last night I made my final Green Chef meal: Nigerian Suya Tofu Kebabs. 

I was looking forward to this meal because I absolutely loved my other tofu meal from Green Chef.


This time, however, I learned a completely new way to prep and cook it. The service provided a pre-mixed Suya peanut powder that you coat the tofu in before roasting it on skewers at 425 F for 20 minutes. The skewers were rather pointless in my opinion other than for keeping the presentation culturally accurate.


The supporting roles in this meal were made up of a coconut milk and spiced tomato rice alongside sautéed onions, yellow sweet potatoes, and Swiss chard. In all honesty, the rice mixture tasted how Calamine lotion smells… I blame the coconut milk. It was a lot thicker than I expected and wonder if it had soured over the week it spent in my refrigerator, but I never use it in my own recipes, so I can’t compare it to others. The potato/chard/onion side dish was tolerable, but rather bland.

All together, the meal did not taste cohesive. The tofu was great, but I felt that it would have been better suited to a Pad Thai or a Thai peanut salad, and will definitely try it as such in the future. I even added Sriracha last night! 


Although this was my least favorite Green Chef meal, I was pleased with my week using the service. Stay tuned for recaps of my other vegan meals from the service!

Leave a Reply

