Loving on Loving Hut

Yesterday I got the chance to visit another Atlanta vegan hotspot, Loving Hut in Sandy Springs. I’d heard a lot of good talk about this spot in the Vegan Atlanta Facebook group, and from my non-veggie coworker, so of course was pretty buzzed to see what the hype was about. 

Once again, this place does not disappoint. 

When you pull up, the two story brick storefront is not much to look at on the outside, or as it turns out the inside either – but just because decor isn’t their thing definitely doesn’t mean the food is anything but top notch. 


I went with the employee recommended house curry and my fearless vegan pal went for the ‘za. 


I’m not the biggest fan of Daiya cheese, which is the brand Loving Hut uses, but they do a surprisingly good job making it taste better than it really is.

 As for the curry, I’d recommend it again and again. Yesterday was my first time trying yellow curry and let’s just say I’m a newly converted big fan. I couldn’t make a fast decision on the rice when I was ordering, so I splurged to try both and ended up loving the forbidden black rice with the Indian flavor palate. My only complaint with this dish is that there aren’t more veggies in the bowl with as much curry as you’re getting. 


Being the inner fatty that I am, I obviously couldn’t say no to adding an app and a dessert as well. 

The sweet chili sauce was the highlight of the spring roll app for me, and I kept the rest of it to try with some rice, but the spring rolls themselves were sadly nothing to write home about. One thing to look out for is that the rolls contain Textured Vegetable Protein (TVP) in them, and if I was at any other restaurant there is no way I would have trusted it wasn’t meat and been able to eat them. Being able to put those fears aside was a nice piece of comfort for Asian food at Loving Hut.


Last but not least, I couldn’t review Loving Hut without talking about the absolutely awesome cookies from Alternative Baking. I only got the chocolate chip, but you can be sure I’ll be back to try another flavor that I can only assume to be just as delicious and chewy and perfect in all cookie categories as this one.


My final words of advice on this place: GO check it out!

Leave a Reply

