My Favorite Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

You know those weekends where you seem to be a human garbage disposal and just eat all the foods? That was me this weekend, and of course I had to finish it off with vegan dessert.

I was planning to attend a vegan meet up at Piedmont Park (that I never managed to find in the end) and decided to make chocolate chip cookies. Now I could have chosen a “clean” recipe, but I wanted all these people I was supposed to meet to actually enjoy this treat, so I looked for a version online that looked pretty close to a regular chocolate chip cookie, except, ya know, vegan.

I landed on Oh She Glows’ recipe, and then made a few tweaks of my own. 


Here’s the final recipe…

You’ll need:

  • 7 tbsp earth balance soy-free vegan “butter”
  • 1 tbsp organic coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar (I used a mix of dark and light)
  • 1/8 cup Sugar in the Raw
  • 1/8 cup white sugar
  • 1 flax egg (mix 1 heaping tbsp Bob’s Red Mill ground flax + 3 tbsp water)
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt + a little extra sprinkle
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup semisweet vegan chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup vegan dark chocolate chips

Here’s what to do:

  1. Preheat your oven to 300F and line baking sheets with parchment paper
  2. Mix up your flax egg and set it aside to firm up for a few minutes
  3. Beat Earth Balance and coconut oil with a hand mixer until fluffy
  4. Add brown sugar, raw sugar, and white sugar and beat into the mix
  5. Add the flax egg and vanilla and beat again
  6. Add the remaining dry ingredients and beat until well incorporated
  7. Add your chocolate chips and mix using a spatula
  8. Form balls and place on the cookie sheets
  9. Bake for 15-18 minutes or golden brown
  10. Let cool and enjoy!!

Coconut oil vegan chocolate chip cookies
These were some of my favorite cookies I’ve ever made, though I got feedback I was a little heavy handed with the cinnamon (good or bad thing?)…

After I couldn’t find the meet up, I served them to friends and coworkers who gobbled them up despite their cinnamon-y-ness and even heard they couldn’t tell they were vegan. I’d call that a win in my book.

What would you do differently if you try them? 

Leave a Reply

