Fishless Fish Taco Friday

Before making the switch to eating only vegan food, my last meal as a pescetarian was sushi. While sushi can’t quite be compared to fish tacos, fish is still the most recent animal I’ve eaten and needless to say I was a little excited to test out Gardein’s fishless filets.

The first way that popped into my head to eat them was tacos.

Gardein vegan fishless fish tacos Friday
I started by “baking” some Potapas tortillas hung over the oven rack wires to make crunchy tacos. I popped these in the oven while it was preheating (and heated) for the fishless filets. 

If I could do it again I probably would have just left them in long enough to thaw and gone he soft taco route, but I was feeling bougie this day. 

I tweaked the box directions for the filets because I was a bit impatient to eat my dinner and get out of the house to spin class. Instead of only cooking in the oven, I got the cooking process going by cooking 2 filets in the microwave for 1 minute. Then, I placed them on a cookie sheet lined with parchment and cooked them at 450 (or whatever it was on preheating) for 10 minutes on each side (20 minutes total).

Meanwhile I cross cut my favorite lettuce of the moment, Romaine, and filled my crunchy taco shells.

I also shredded some carrots and jicama and tossed it with some lime juice and set this aside to put on my tacos last.

When the filets were done, I added the shredded mix and a bit of red pepper, along with some more lime juice and green tomatillo salsa.

So how did the tacos turn out? The overall combo worked quite well together.


But what about the fishless filets… did they taste “real”??? Was my mind blown??? In short, no. 

I really wanted to be able to report that these were amazing, but in reality they only got about half way there. If Long John Silvers is your measuring stick, maybe it’s closer. The filets do have a distinct fish flavor impersonation, but I had to try hard to discern that flavor in every bite. The density is also a bit too thick and not flaky enough to resemble a piece of fish, and is more of a McDonalds chicken nugget type of texture (if I had to guess). Maybe they’re closer to wider versions of fish sticks, too, but I haven’t had one in ages to be able to compare.

Even though the fishless filets were a bit underwhelming and I’d be content to eat veggie-only tacos,  they would no doubt make a good substitute for someone struggling to leave fish behind.

I’ve got more in the pack and I’ll be trying them cooked a couple different ways before I run out, so stay tuned by subscribing to my blog to find out alternative recipes. 

4 Replies to “Fishless Fish Taco Friday”

  1. Thank you for this article. I used to be Pescetarian and also switched to a completely vegan diet. I certainly don’t want to be eating products out of a polluted ocean and fish are also sentient beings. I did not know that this product existed! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

