Roti: Indian Soul Food

Once I decided to visit the Global Grub Connection this past Sunday, Roti was the obvious candidate for lunch. This small, totally vegetarian “Indian Soul Food” shoppe is another permanent resident at the GGC, and offers a $10 bottomless “buffet” (AKA plates served by the restaurant). 

Roti vegetarian Indian soul food east atlanta eav weekend buffet
This little gem is truly a family affair. I must have showed up at the right time, because I got to meet “Chef Mom” who prepares all the food, and her son who serves it up.

They were knowledgeable about which items were vegan (most of them) and made me a sampler of all kinds of goods, including a lentil stew and a piece of roti (worth the extra $2). If you’re not familiar, roti is a traditional Indian flatbread that resembles a tortilla. I used it to scoop up some of my lentil stew and other soupy items on my plate.

Everything was flavorful, but my absolute favorite item was Pav Baji. This dish is essentially a mix of mashed veggies in a thick gravy, and Roti’s is deliciously eggplant forward. I also loved the cabbage, and I didn’t feel at all guilty eating any of it.
Roti vegetarian Indian soul food east atlanta eav weekend buffetRoti vegetarian Indian soul food east atlanta eav weekend buffet
I’d definitely recommend going on a Saturday or Sunday so you can find out which dishes you personally like best from the buffet, but be aware that the “bottomless” catchphrase may not mean much unless your stomach is way stretchier than mine (and I eat A LOT) — I was full about 2/3 of the way through my first plate and couldn’t even think of going back for more even though it was so tasty!

Hope this review was helpful!

Leave a Reply

